S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

engine difference? tip vs manual

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2007, 05:46 PM
1st Gear
Default engine difference? tip vs manual

Let me give you a little background.

I called to talk to APR in regards to their stage III kit for 2000-2002 S4's for a project of mine. I have not bought the motor or tranny, but I was leaning towards picking up a tip S4 as for I could find a better deal and most likely less ragged out. My original thoughts were to get the motor and tip and then eventually pick up a manual tranny if needed. The guy at APR basically blew me off with the we don't deal with tip's have a nice day. So before getting off the phone I asked the question of why are the upgrade packages slated as for 6 speeds only and he quickly blirted that the motors are different. The motors are different?!?

This is news to me, I am a newbie to the audi world, but as far asI knew the motors were the same, just the trannies are different. Needless I looked on ETKA and the blocks are in fact different part numbers for tip and manual.

The question is, what are the differences in the blocks? transmission mounts?

Thanks,

Shawn

Old 06-18-2007, 12:17 AM
1st Gear
Default RE: engine difference? tip vs manual

with 24+ visits I was hoping that someone would at least say "yeah, their different", or "what are you smoking", or "holy sh3eoot, I didn't know that either"...

Something guys, why the different part numbers for TIP blocks and MANUAL blocks? What is the difference?

Thanks,

Shawn

Old 06-18-2007, 01:01 AM
1st Gear

motors are the same.. 99% sure.. also APR does not deal with TIPs... my indy mechanic is APR sponsored and they make no software for TIP, you have to go GIAC or REVO..

dont believe everything people tell you

Old 06-18-2007, 02:55 AM
2nd Gear