Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

Wood cribs + Jack Stands?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2011, 09:29 PM
1st Gear
Question Wood cribs + Jack Stands?

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum so if I've got this in the wrong section I apologize.
I want to get into doing my own car maintenance (oil changes, tire rotations...etc), but I've never done this stuff before. I like to learn everything I can before I start something and I'm most concerned with jacking up the car safely. I've read plenty of stories of jack stands failing while people are under the car and the people getting crushed to death. I don't want that happening to me. I found this DIY guide for wood blocks/cribs the other day to add to the support of the jack stands(or actually, from what it looks like, the jack stands are for backup). Even though I haven't ever posted on this forum before, I have read plenty of threads and you guys seem to know what you're doing... so I'd like to ask what you guys think of this. The guide on the wood block cribs/stands is here with some pics of them: http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/multi/wood-block.htm
So, what do you guys think... is the wood block/crib idea with 4 jack stands under the car (for backup) safe, or would I be better off just getting 8 jack stands to support the car?
Thanks for any help you guys can give me...
Oh and FWIW... the car being supported would be a 2002 Audi A4 3.0

Old 02-10-2011, 11:16 PM
AudiForums WilkommenVagen Direktor

wood is a wonderful thing. Cheap, easy to work with and has a slow fail under load with all sorts of warning indicators.

jack stands are also wonderful things. smaller, lighter, and plenty strong.

either is prone to failure if not used properly. both are very safe if the are used properly. you should be more than fine with a quality jack, some wheel chocks and some quality jack stands.