Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

Who else here is a martial arts student?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2008, 05:32 PM
Administrator
Default Who else here is a martial arts student?

We've had a firearms thread, so how about unarmed self-defense? Anyone else out there a student or instructor? I am hoping to restart this spring when I get a few pressing things taken care of, and am hoping to get into Wing Chun kung fu. I have between 5 and 6 years of experience in Matsubayashi Ryu karate (an Okinawan style) and took a Washin-ryu course during college as well, and got an introduction to that style through the course. I liked both of them, but karate to me is too rectangular in its motions, whereas kung fu (at least the styles that I've seen and sparred against) were much more natural and fluid in their motions. I know that in the past, there were some private instructors in my area and I'm hoping that at least one of them is still teaching, because I can't wait to get back into it.

Anyone else out there a student? If so, what style or styles are you into? How long have you studied?

Old 02-12-2008, 06:46 PM
5th Gear
Default RE: Who else here is a martial arts student?

never got into it, but a buddy of mine used to give me little lessons is Aikido. crazy stuff. i would never even think about messing with him

Old 02-12-2008, 06:49 PM
6th Gear

I'm personally not into it, but like Chaos my friends taught me a few things from Army Combatives training, so when I strike it's not pretty but it'll get the job done.

Old 02-12-2008, 07:01 PM
2nd Gear

I have been doing Wing Chun and Combat Tai Chi for just under two years now so Iam working onboth internal and external kung fu. If I had to choose between the two Wing Chun is hands down what I would choose wing chun. My sifu is what makes the class he is bad to the bone and teaches a "ganster fist" Kung fu.

Old 02-12-2008, 09:11 PM
2nd Gear