Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

What to do if your car is broken into, how to avoid it

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2007, 05:21 PM
2nd Gear
Default What to do if your car is broken into, how to avoid it

Being a police officer I have seen MANY cars that have been broken into. These cars range from civics to upper class vehicles such as Escalades. Many people feel helpless when they see what has happened to their car, this is common and unavoidable. There are millions of theories and methods about avoiding having your car broken into. Alarms are always a good idea, but are in no way something to completely rely on. I have had calls where people had the top of the line Viper alarm systems with remote pagers that alert the owner when the alarm goes off who had their cars broken into and were completely unaware until they saw the vehicle.
This could be the result of a million reasons, the most common is forgetting to arm the arlarm or lock the doors. Most people will swear they locked the car this is because these people have made a habit of clicking the alarm button as they go away from their car. Things to keep in mind that could occur: not hitting the button fully, being out of range from the car, hearing the chirp of the alarm and assuming that all doors fully secured themselves. Sadly the only way to ever know the car is locked without a doubt is to walk around the car and try each door. Some people may want to take the time to do this, but most won't. Alarms are technology, we all know that technology does not always function as it should. The fact of the matter is there is no full proof way to secure a vehicle because the only thing keeping others out is a small layer of glass which can easily be smashed. The most common way a car is entered into is via a smashed window, unlocking the door, and getting inside.