Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

Should I Obtain a Medical Assistant Certification?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2021, 11:37 AM
Banned
Default Should I Obtain a Medical Assistant Certification?

I am an undergraduate non-traditional senior (B.A. in Computer Science). My overall GPA is 3.85, science GPA is 4.0 as I’m taking my prerequisites, I have 17 hours of clinical volunteering, and I was just hired as a medical scribe (job title is “Medical Assistant”) for a psychiatry/neurology private clinic. I have no current research experience but I am actively applying for the future. I have worked as a biology/chemistry/A&P tutor at a community college before becoming a scribe.

My question is: Would it be worth it to get MA certification through a program? I am currently weighing my options of doing it at a local CC or through an accredited online program. What I hope is that my current clinical experience as a scribe will help me get hired at a place where I can do direct patient care (such as basic procedures at a dermatology practice), and that this certification will help me more with my chances. I know some jobs offer onsite training, but I always like to be sure of my chances.

BTW, I am planning on taking my MCAT in 2022/2023, and hope to matriculate in those respective years.

I appreciate any advice.

Old 11-26-2021, 04:33 AM
1st Gear

I'm leaning towards no, it's not worth it to get the certificate but it depends on your circumstances.

Old 11-26-2021, 04:34 AM
1st Gear