Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

Help me choose my Audi; I need your expertise

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2013, 02:38 PM
1st Gear
Smile Help me choose my Audi; I need your expertise

Thanks for looking!
I'm ready to jump up to a premium brand and Audi seems to be the best choice but I need some help choosing which specific model/year/engine. I'm an experienced mechanic and track racer, so I don't mind a little work here and there, but I want to avoid any major hassles. I know you guys know what models to avoid or look for, so, here are my requirements; (looking for used and affordable btw)

1. Avant - gotta have the space
2. fast-ish (just not a dog) Doesn't necessarily need to be an "S", but it will probably be best.
3. reliable engine; I'm going to put a lot of miles on
4. under $18,000, preferably under 15k
5. Not a requirement, (don't flame me) but decent gas milage. Just do better than my v8 pickup, that's all.
6. Allroad? what engine/year?

Big question: is there a big difference between the 4 and 6 avants size wise, or in any other big way?

Manual or automatic doesn't matter, year doesn't matter.
Right now i'm looking at a few s4 from aroun 02-04, and a couple S6 in the same range. milage is usually 115k to 150k

Is the turbo something to avoid at this mileage?
Which engines suck?
what mileage do these things go to the scrap yard?

Thanks in advance!

Old 09-05-2013, 03:51 PM
Senior Administrator

Welcome to the party!!!

BIG answer: There IS a difference, but, I don't know what you consider a "big difference." I've never owned either of those two, but I have shopped around them, years ago. I'd recommend visiting your closest Audi Stealership and ask to compare them.