Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

Ever worked outside your department?

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2006, 06:02 PM
2nd Gear
Default Ever worked outside your department?

I have a new found respect for the crewmember's onboard my Coast Guard Cutter. I usually work for the Supply department, and handle all of the administrative issues such as paychecks, leave, transfers, etc etc. I've been doing this for the past 2 years, and now our boat is in drydock, getting some major modifications to update our technology. The command has now sent me to work with the "deck" department, for my last 3 weeks onboard until my transfer to Seattle, WA.

The "deck" department guys are the one's who do all of the $hit work on the boat... Painting, sanding, washing, etc etc. They also get paid the least... I never had to do any of that because I got a guaranteed training school, and skipd that whole process. I just wanted to say, that no matter where you work, give the guys working under you some respect. In my case, they work alot harder than me, and get paid less.

Old 05-23-2006, 06:11 PM
4th Gear
Default RE: Ever worked outside your department?

So you're a Mod now?

Remember to be kind to those of us under you.

Old 05-23-2006, 06:16 PM
Administrator

hes not the only new mod

Old 05-23-2006, 06:16 PM
2nd Gear

ORIGINAL: pturbo

So you're a Mod now?

Remember to be kind to those of us under you.
Only you could make that connection pTurbo...

Old 05-23-2006, 06:20 PM
Site Moderator

haha..well congrats to both of you.. And agreed.. I think its a good rule of thumb just to treat people the way you want to be treated.

Old 05-23-2006, 06:22 PM
4th Gear

Wow. Panda too!

Time to go start my own "I'm leaving" thread. [8D]

Old 05-24-2006, 04:01 AM
1st Gear