General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Looking at a 1993 100S have some concerns.

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2012, 10:12 PM
1st Gear
Default Looking at a 1993 100S have some concerns.

Hello all,
I've been lurking around here a while, been reading a lot of the transmission stuff. Hopefully this problem is nothing major as this car is a really good deal IMO.

To start off, I'm a long time Audi/VW fan but will be a first time owner, I'm a mechanic of many years and not too afraid of crawling around under an Audi. The only experience I have with VWs was a clutch I replaced on a Golf 337. That was a nightmare. haha

The car is a 1993 100S, it has an automatic transmission and 234k on the odo.
Asking price is $850. It is the CLEANEST car I've ever seen over 150k. And is owned by an "Audi Head" who owns the Quattro version of the same car and a few older Audis.

My only concern is the transmission, the car was clearly cared for and it is apparent inside and out. The owner claims the fluid is low therefore it has a hard time getting out of second gear, the neutral safety switch appears to be functioning and I don't think that it is the problem. There are no problems with reverse.

I drove the car 6 miles and the first few stop signs the car would not leave second. I got out on the open road and got up to 45 then the owner explained his method for getting the car into 3rd. He instructed me to shift into neutral then back into drive and voila it went into third then 4th.

It was a little hard but my daily driver is a 302 swapped Ford Ranger with a built AOD auto, so hard shifts are very familiar to me.

Once the car warmed up I stopped at a stop light and then turned, after the turn it did it one more time and was remedied by shifting into neutral the turning the car off and starting it back up. After that 7 stop signs and 3 speed bumps later the car drove beautifully all the way back to his home.