General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Driver side mirror looks like 3-d image??

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2006, 12:23 AM
1st Gear
Default Driver side mirror looks like 3-d image??

OK, I'm a newbie and the last audi I had was a 5000 (many moons ago). I just got my car which is a used '99 A6 Avant 2.8 tip with 84k. The driver side mirror reflects an image that is best described as looking very close to what a 3-d image looks like, kinda like the main image has two other ghost images offset from the original. What gives?

ALSO

anyone have simple fixes for sticky cupholders?
on-board computer display is weak around the edges, any thoughts?
vibration upon accelerating left turn -- CV joint? Feels like left side, any good way to tell?

Thanks --Mark

Old 06-09-2006, 12:55 AM
Senior Administrator
Default RE: Driver side mirror looks like 3-d image??

ORIGINAL: Grossbauer

OK, I'm a newbie and the last audi I had was a 5000 (many moons ago). I just got my car which is a used '99 A6 Avant 2.8 tip with 84k. The driver side mirror reflects an image that is best described as looking very close to what a 3-d image looks like, kinda like the main image has two other ghost images offset from the original. What gives?

ALSO

anyone have simple fixes for sticky cupholders?
on-board computer display is weak around the edges, any thoughts?
vibration upon accelerating left turn -- CV joint? Feels like left side, any good way to tell?

Thanks --Mark
My thoughts (in other words: not worth much)

- Your mirror is delaminating. There's a film between teh class and the anti-scratch coating that helps transmit the heat for your heated mirrors... It's coming apart. It happens. Not often, but it happens. You'll need to replace teh mirror glass. Check with www.shokan.com or www.dadsauto.com