Classic Audi A section to discuss the models that have made Audi famous of the years...

need help putting in boost gauge and controller

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2007, 11:06 PM
1st Gear
Default need help putting in boost gauge and controller

i just got a vdo boost gauge and a hallman boost controller anyone know how to install them i am new to the turbo seen. i have a 5000cs quattro

Old 04-28-2007, 03:12 AM
2nd Gear
Default RE: need help putting in boost gauge and controller

for the guage run a vacume line fro the intake to the guage .... and a boost controller you don't rally need .. the car already controls the boost

Old 04-28-2007, 04:23 AM
1st Gear

what vac line do i tap into and where do i run the power lines to. but cant i use the boost controller to increase and decrease boost.

Old 04-28-2007, 04:43 PM
1st Gear

ORIGINAL: usmcrob6

i just got a vdo boost gauge and a hallman boost controller anyone know how to install them i am new to the turbo seen. i have a 5000cs quattro
Ok, I'm gonna do what I can to help you out here.

For your boost gauge: you need to tap into a vacuum line coming off the intake manifold. The most obvious choices are the lines beneath the bracket that holds the throttle cable because of their size. You can use a simple Pep-Boys "T" to tap into the line. Be sure these lines are a tight seal, you don't want to be leaking out any boost. I attached a couple pictures of my motor, in case you're totally in the dark of where I'm talking about, if this is the case, I highly recommend having someone help you.

Now, the Boost controller, theres a couple important things to take care of: