B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

So I'm pretty sure I just wasted $200. Swapped PCV for nothing?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2013, 09:05 PM
1st Gear
Default So I'm pretty sure I just wasted $200. Swapped PCV for nothing?

I'm a newbie on this forum and Audis. Just bought my 07 A4 last weekend. I noticed it is just a tad rough at idle, to the point I can see the headlight projection shake when idling in drive. Also has suction on oil cap when I pull it off with engine idling. You can hear the motor get rougher when I do that. I've searched the forums and came to the conclusion it's a stuck PCV valve. Bought the $200 kit from europarts.com. Installed the valve and breather tube. Does same thing still.

I'm hoping to get some advice. I though if you had suction on your oil cap (and subtle oil blow-by from cap onto ignition coil) it was a bad PCV ?!

Next step will be new OEM Bosch plugs, but I know this will not change the vacuum pressure on oil cap, but maybe smooth out the idle? It got 30+ mpg on my 6 hr road trip home from buying it... And it feels strong, but I have NO previous comparison for this car.

Old 03-22-2013, 09:36 PM
1st Gear

i havent replaced the pcv but im pretty sure that taking off the oil cap with the engine running is gonna make it run funny/rough no matter what. and i think there should be pressure/suction while running as well, that what a vacuum is. you can take the oil dip stick out while running and it should act up then too

Old 03-22-2013, 10:47 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by imaudi5000
i havent replaced the pcv but im pretty sure that taking off the oil cap with the engine running is gonna make it run funny/rough no matter what. and i think there should be pressure/suction while running as well, that what a vacuum is. you can take the oil dip stick out while running and it should act up then too