B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

Looking in to purchasing a 2007 A4 with 104k miles...

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2014, 11:04 AM
1st Gear
Default Looking in to purchasing a 2007 A4 with 104k miles...

So this is my first post, and I'm posting a question that has probably been asked a few thousand times, but I am treating this decision very seriously. If you don't want to hear a blah blah introduction, just skip to the next bolded section further below.

BACKSTORY

I am a recent college graduate working an entry level position, so $ isn't too high, but neither are expenses. So I want to reward myself for making it through college. Right now, I actually already own an Audi. I own a 2001 A6 2.7T with around 104k miles on it. I got it from a friend who I trusted, and I don't think he intentionally gave me a bad car, but I have had too many issues as a result of this purchase. Suspension is terrible (sounds like rear struts may need replacing), they advertised features that were not actually there, and I didn't put enough research in pre-purchase. There's also salvage and flood damage on the title prior to when my friend purchased it and owned it for 7+ years. Plain and simple, my mistake. I'm obviously not going to be able to sell it for very much.

However, I do love the car. I've previously owned a 94 Nissan Pathfinder, and an 03 Mitsubishi Eclipse, and in terms of pure enjoyment, I LOVE my A6. From time to time, I'll drive my parents cars when I am at home, which are 07 and 08 Honda's, and it's still not even close.