B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

HP increase after catback???

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 02:33 AM
1st Gear
Exclamation HP increase after catback???

hey i am a ford tech and have installed a few performance upgrades in my day, ussually on mustangs well install 4:10 gears or a catback exhaust but only see about 15 to 25 hp gains from the cb. first what could i expext from my 07 2.0t 6sp man with just a cat back, also are their gear swap sets available for the quattro!!??

Old 10-08-2009, 04:43 PM
Site Moderator

As far as gears go, Stasis engineering sells a center differential that makes the four wheel drive an 20/80 split so it feels and drives more like a rear wheel drive car, instead of the 60/40 thats currently in the B7 A4. Im not sure if they sell gears, but thats useless on the type of car you have, great for a mustang though.
A catback exhaust will yield different gains, it depends on what mods are done to the engine. If its just stock you can expect about 7-10 horsepower gain. If you're running a garrett GT28RS turbo then you can expect around a 20-30 horsepower gain over stock. Although i doubt the engine would run very well with a stock exhaust and that turbo LOL. Also, since i know you're back ground, forget about X pipes or H pipes on this car.

Old 10-08-2009, 07:13 PM
1st Gear

i like the idea of the 20\80 split but wonder if it would take away from the awd or maybe even confuse the esp?? also seing how the car is a 4 cyl how would a H or x pipe setup apply? when i did the inspection i notice the stock muffler is one port in to a dual out, also with just a catback what size pipe should i shoot for 3inch or is a little restriction 2.75 ? ok thats if i decide to run the pipe myself. i remember something about turbo motors and restriction in school but the only turbos i work on come off diesels lol with 3.25 exhaust.

Old 10-08-2009, 10:13 PM
Site Moderator