B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

B7 Model A4 Start Issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2012, 02:37 PM
1st Gear
Default B7 Model A4 Start Issues

Hi All!
I'm new to Audi- as in I just bought my 2007 A4 Quattro a month and a half ago.

The car has been running perfectly until the past few days. When I go to start the car, I crank the key in the ignition, and the car chokes about 4-5 times before it will start. However, this is not happening every time I start the car. An example is this morning, I turned the key in the ignition and started the car without issue (no choke, started on first attempt). 2 hours later I went to start the car, turned the key in the ignition and it choked about 8 times before I took the key out completely. I let the car sit for a few minutes and tried to start it again, and it again started without issue.

This has happened three times in the last 3 days and I am curious if this has ever happened to anyone else out there? Are there any known issues that cause this to happen? Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Just as a side-note, the car was purchased at a Lexus dealership and came with a limited CPO warranty. They did a full inspection and no issues came up. The dealership recently performed an oil & air filter change, and the car only has 31k miles on it.

Thanks!

Old 02-17-2012, 04:23 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by clark.am2
Hi All!
I'm new to Audi- as in I just bought my 2007 A4 Quattro a month and a half ago.