B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

Starting problem, is the battery die?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2010, 08:40 AM
1st Gear
Unhappy Starting problem, is the battery die?

I am totally new to A4. I got a starting problem but not sure which part is failed. Yesterday morning I try to start my car but it's failed it just keeping cranking. After I try several times, it stops starting at all. Nothing happened to the car, No reaction!!! When I jump start the car, it works and the engine is working fine. I let the engine working about 30 mints and try to start the car again, it failed again.
I thought the battery is flat so I charged it with a battery charger from Halfords. After finish charging the battery, the indicator turn green on the charger, I try again but unlucky it fail.
I think the battery maybe die but my friend told me that maybe the alternator is not working as well.
Or maybe there are other reasons
Any ideas about this problem?

Thanks in advance

Old 11-30-2010, 09:19 AM
1st Gear

It could be either of the two, or both. You should jump the car, drive it to your local parts store and have them test the charging system of the car. They can tell you if your alternator is working or not. Either way, it sounds like your battery isn't holding a charge, so that will probably need to be replaced.

Old 11-30-2010, 12:23 PM
2nd Gear

If the car runs without problem its not the alternator. Most likely is the battery.

Old 11-30-2010, 08:29 PM
1st Gear

Thank you guys for the advices. I may check alternator firstly just in case.

Old 11-30-2010, 08:55 PM
2nd Gear

You can check your alternator by running the car. If the alternator was bad it would not run. Your battery is die.

Old 12-07-2010, 02:50 AM
1st Gear

OP's post is a problem of car not starting, battery wearing down is the result. So, I have same problem and I have not found the answer after much searching.