B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

30mph+ speeding ticket

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2008, 10:21 PM
Default 30mph+ speeding ticket

this happened on Route 1 in Islin/Woodbridge, NJ by the Woodbridge mall

so I was coming back home for work today, had a headache and just wanted to get home and relax ASAP.... I was doing 80 when I saw this car cutting everyone off and got right on my ***, I didn't know it was a cop until he turned on the lights... so I got pulled over (the POS cop said I was doing 82 on a radar on a 50 when I'm pretty sure he paced my speed... why else would you follow me so close for about 300 feet?). This is my first time getting pulled over so I'm sitting there sh*tting bricks with my license and registration in my hand. he asks me whats the hurry and I tell him the truth "I'm just going home", whatever, he asks me why I was switching lanes without signaling and cutting everyone off... which I wasn't so I told him "I didn't realize I was doing that", I know bad responses but remember this was my first time getting pulled over... so he goes back to his car and spends 10 mins and comes back with a ticket and court summon. Now I'm really sh*tting bricks cuz I know in NY speeding 30mph+ over the speed limit is 7pts on your license and a 30 day suspension...

but after a little research online I came upon this little info and it says:

"The NYSDMV does not record out-of-state violations committed by NYS drivers in other jurisdictions. The exceptions are alcohol-related violations, drug-related violations, and moving violations committed in Quebec or Ontario. Under special agreements, traffic convictions in Quebec or Ontario are recorded on NYS driver license records and carry points. Except for violations in Ontario and Quebec, points are not added to your NYS record for out-of-state violations."

so basically I'm safe from points right?