B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Whats up guys...new here with a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 09:33 PM
Default Whats up guys...new here with a few questions

Hey guys im new to the forum and to audi's. I just bought a silver 01 a4 1.8t with the sport package and i have to say that i love this damn thing! I had a jeep wrangler before and obviously it's a night and day difference. I've been doing a lot of research here on the forum before i joined but im still learning and i have a couple questions...

My check engine light comes on every once in a while and says i have a random misfires in cylinders 1, 2 and 3...if i disconnect the battery the lights shuts off and doesn't usually come back on for 100 miles or so. The thing is it doesn't feel like it's misfiring, it runs smooth and with plenty of power...i also got a code once stating that the engine is running lean...any ideas?

My next question is about my first upgrade. I'm trying to decide if i should install a boost gauge first or save up for a chip and get that installed first. Any input?

Old 05-18-2010, 10:10 PM
Tech Guru

well, first figure out about the mis, i would say it is time to either replace your plugs or coil packs... i would say if you change the packs, change the plugs.... know of any maintenance that has been done to it?

i would do timing belt/water pump, also check your vac lines, make sure they are all good

then yes a boost guage/tune would be a good upgrade, but you will need to do your dv too

your maf might be causing the issue as well.... but i would start with coils and plugs.. take it to the dealer let them check your vin to see if your car has been given the free updated coils, if not... then that will be a cheap fix lol

Old 05-18-2010, 10:12 PM
Administrator