B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

What to look for when purchasing an Audi

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2012, 10:52 PM
1st Gear
Default What to look for when purchasing an Audi

Hey guys, new to the Audi world. Have always wanted one and now I finally have the chance (totaled my old car, check from the insurance in the mail...)

I found a 2001 Audi A4 2.8 Quatro with the 5 speed manual being sold by a private party. It has 129,000 miles on it and he's asking around $5,000 (or obo) for it.

Since I'm pretty new to the Audi scene what should I be looking for when I go to test drive it on Friday? He said he just put a lot of money into it doing the routine maintenance when it hits that higher mileage and he said he always did the standard stuff throughout the life of the car.

Basically, I'm a noob and I might be beating a dead horse by asking this question in a forum like this. If I'm breaking any type of forum rules by posting in the wrong spot/posting something I shouldn't, I apologize, just looking for any help and advice I can get.

If you need any more details to help guide me what to look for I can give them to you.

Basically what I'm looking for is:

What are the problem areas for these cars?
Any specific thing I should look/listen/feel for?
Is the price right if the condition is what he says it is?
How hard are these to work on yourself (I'm no mechanic but I'm fairly mechanically inclined and are fairly familiar with working on the 1.8T's found in Volkswagens in Audi's)?
How hard are parts to come by if I don't life near an Audi/Volkswagen dealership?
And anything else I may be missing as an Audi noob.

Thanks guys!

Old 12-05-2012, 11:30 PM
Site Moderator/B5 Tech Guru

Welcome, have you read the FAQ yet? I would start with the noobie guide.

https://www.audiforums.com/forum/b5-...%2A%2A-109459/

Old 12-05-2012, 11:38 PM
1st Gear

Maintenance to ensure is done.