B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Weighing options on buying a 99 A4

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2011, 08:32 AM
1st Gear
Default Weighing options on buying a 99 A4

So we have had several Audi A4 Quattros come up in a local auction. One of which has really caught my eye and fancy. It's a five speed 1.8T. Not much is known about it. 122 some odd change miles. It says no run/clutch problems. Driver seat is torn pretty bad, and trunk is dented. I'm a mechanic at a big name shop. I have tools and time, but little experience with Audi's. Need to know what you all think. The bidding so far hasn't been very enthusiastic. Five speeds aren't well loved around these parts. I may be able to pick this up under six hundred dollars. Any advice would be appreciated. Oh, and here are some pictures and the VIN WAUCB28D5XA284978.

Old 07-19-2011, 09:11 AM
Administrator

With access to a shop you have nothing to lose at that price. You could replace the engine and come in at less than half the book value invested. If you get it and it's nothing you want you could part it out and make 2-3x your investment. I don't see a way you can lose.

Old 07-19-2011, 09:20 AM
1st Gear

Good to hear. Just wish I knew more about Audi's off the get. How difficult are the clutches on the Quattros? What're some common engine problems that keep these from running? I know if you take the oil fill cap off a BMW it won't run because the vacuum leak is too much... Could it be something stupid simple like that on an Audi? Been dying to go see it and give it a thorough once over. Would love some insight on particular things to look at?

Old 07-19-2011, 10:50 AM
Administrator

Start at the top of the forum with the FAQ sticky post - that'll fill you in on a lot. Take a read through that as well as the sticky posts in the New Member subforum to get a good grasp on the ABCs and then you will be able to follow up with more pointed questions related to this particular car.