B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Twincharging the 2.8?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2013, 01:52 PM
1st Gear
Default Twincharging the 2.8?

Hey guys im a noob on audi forums and sometimes these crazy ideas come to mind so here you go.

Aircraft internal combustion engines have been using twin charging for a long time. There are some turbines that use twin charging also. For those of you who don't recognize the term, it simply means combining two different compressors together, either in series or parallel.

I was thinking... one day when I get myself another car and leave my B5 in the garage... why not try to super charge and turbo charge it? I read somewhere that strapping on both compressors wont make a difference if the ECU isn't tuned correctly. So assuming I find someone who would actually attempt to tune it, is it worth it?

The cost of a project like this is probably in the 10,xxx's but im interested in finding out if im the only psycho who thought about twin charging the B5.

Old 09-01-2013, 06:10 PM
2nd Gear

Name:  FlameSuit2.jpg
Views: 86
Size:  19.8 KB

*gets popcorn ready*

1. Unless you have a strong attachment to your car, doing this would be a time-consuming, likely dead end project full of regret.

2. The twin turbo'd B5 is the 2.7TT in the S4 and the RS4. You'd avoid all the headache, custom work, and throwing your money into a sinkhole by selling your 2.8L and picking up a well-maintained S or RS.

3. The supercharger is a possibility with your engine, but finding one will be difficult and sourcing a tune(r) will be even harder, but you would get that awesome whine. I'd do this if I had a B5 (now I sound like Randy) and the opportunity.