B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Tranny Install Woes-Need Troubleshooting Advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009, 11:49 PM
1st Gear
Default Tranny Install Woes-Need Troubleshooting Advice

Well, installed a used and tested tranny out of an 01 passat with the same tranny code (EZZ) as my 2.8L 2001 A4 auto. Everything is hooked up and installed correctly. Now, I am a mechanic, not for Audi, however for Caterpillar, so the product line is obviously different.

So basically I can start the car and it acts normally in park and neutral, it will rev, etc. etc. HOWEVER, when I put it into any gear, forward or reverse, the engine rpm's SLIGHTLY decrease from idle and any input to the throttle does nothing, almost like something in the tranny is causing the engine from revving???

I really just want some feedback to hear what others have to say. I have not looked into it quite yet, I did not have time tonight, just got these results and left for the night.

Tomorrow or this weekend I will drain the fluid and drop the pan to ensure that the filter is properly installed and that the seal is undamaged. I'm thinking that if the filter is damaged/altogether missing, that the pump would not be receiving fluid considering that the filter serves as a fluid pickup. And if the pump is not receiving fluid/enough fluid, that the pressures would not be high enough to operate the transmissino properly and could be causing my symptoms???

Any advice??

Thanks

Old 06-26-2009, 12:01 AM
4th Gear

Or coding in the TCM...

Old 06-26-2009, 09:39 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by Midniteoyl
Or coding in the TCM...
Can you explain more please..

Old 06-26-2009, 09:01 PM
4th Gear

IDK, I was thinking that maybe the because the tranny came from a Passat, the coding for it could be different: gear selection range, TCU to ECU, whatever... Something to look in to.

Old 06-26-2009, 11:44 PM
1st Gear