B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Problems after Test Pipe

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2008, 11:30 PM
1st Gear
Default Problems after Test Pipe

I recently installed a test pipe. I knew that I would get a code unless I got an MIL eliminator or similair. After the install the car had a huge loss in power. The car was running 14psi. Now the car runs 14psi but the car takes much longer to get there and seems to be extremely rich.

I hooked the logger up and i'm getting a p0301 for a cylinder 1 misfire. I pulled the plug and it seems to be burning fine..

I did a search on solutions to a catless car. I chose the route of Spark plug non foulers. Installed them, cleared the code and went for a ride. Still no power and the light quickly came back.

Is there something I'm still doing wrong that I have such a loss in power? I'm good with my DSM's but when it comes to the Audi I'm just a newbie. Thanks in advance for any help.

-Mike

Old 06-24-2008, 11:41 PM
Site Moderator
Default RE: Problems after Test Pipe

That misfire code could be old unless your CEL/MIL is flashing. Clear it and see if it comes back. How does it "seem" to be rich? The smell? Get used to it. There shouldnt be loss in how fast boost is built. Are you sure you don't have a leak? Where did you get your test pipe and how wide is it? You put the non fouler on the secondary 02 sensor right?

Old 06-25-2008, 07:36 AM
1st Gear

Thanks for the reply. I'm lost when it comes to this car.

The CEL came on after the car warmed up after the test pipe was installed. I cleared the code and within a few minutes it came back and stays on. When I go to 100% throttle for a few seconds the CEL will flash. Pull the code and I come up with the same cylinder 1 misfire. Plug appears to be burning fine.