B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

PA inspection vs. CEL

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2014, 06:01 PM
1st Gear
Default PA inspection vs. CEL

I am new to PA.

I need to have the car inspected at the end of this month but I have a CEL with a couple error code. 3 of the 5 are thermostat related and o2 sensors. The other 2 are EVAP. I had been planning on doing the whole water pump/thermostat/timing belt thing, but finances have been a little skimp to get the parts and tools from blauparts (325 deposit on the tools?).

I believe that the timing belt kit should clear the first 3 codes and a diligent look into the vacuum system should clear the last 2 codes...

my question is: will the mechanic doing the inspection see the CEL and run a diagnostic and fail me? I ran an 'emission test' on the cheapo VAG tool and the car passed...

I also have the Air Bag light on... the PO had replaced the airbag module within the past year. I havent event looked into this yet, but am hopeful that it is just the under seat connector.

Last edited by foos; 03-05-2014 at 06:06 PM.
Old 03-05-2014, 06:11 PM
1st Gear

Where I am we have to have "safety" inspections done each time a new owner takes possession of the vehicle. For us, a CEL will NOT cause safety to fail. I can't say that's the same in the USA, but in my province in Canada that is the case.

It is also my understanding that a vehicle is not required to have airbags (thus it wouldn't matter if they airbag light was on or off). This is only hearsay though, I could be completely mistaken.

Old 03-05-2014, 06:44 PM
1st Gear

i just read the entire PA Saftey Inspection requirements and there is no mention of Airbag lights.

http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/pdotforms...ubchapterE.pdf

but the PA Emission test is a little less clear. The inspector will hook up a OBD cable and read any error codes.... but they dont say what they will require to be fixed.

http://www.ahs.dep.pa.gov/aq_apps/em...s/testinfo.htm