B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Oil in my intake!

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2009, 08:55 PM
2nd Gear
Default Oil in my intake!

I disconnected both hoses from my turbo to intercooler pipe to find the inside of both of them filled with engine oil. I'm no professional mechanic but I'm assuming this is kind of a big deal, am I right?

I'm going to attempt to find the source of the leak tomorrow, but until then, can anyone give me any advice on what may be the cause, and how to fix this problem?

Old 05-02-2009, 09:43 PM
1st Gear

Could it be from a K&N filter?

Old 05-02-2009, 09:54 PM
Legal Moderator

from what i understand it isnt really a specific problem, it just happens, especially with turbocharged engines because of all the air being recirculated after it comes in contact with engine oil. that is what a oil catch can is for. instead of depositing oil in your hoses, it falls into a little can which is emptied periodically. i think you would only need to be worried about it if you are noticing high levels of oil consumption, like you put in 4.3 quarts when you change it and only three come out the next oil change.

Old 05-02-2009, 10:21 PM

It's a thrust bearing turbo, the turbo shaft rides on a blanket of oil, so some gets through on both sides. It's normal.

Old 05-03-2009, 12:55 AM
4th Gear

It is very normal because your valve cover and crank case on your 2001 is connected to your turbo inlet hose. THis allows the turbo to suck the pressure out of both spots and this allows oil vapor to get into your intake system. The system is setup this way so that the oil vapor is then pushed into the cylinder and burned. What happens is that the vapor settles on the pipe/hose and collects. This is why they the catch can setups.

Old 05-03-2009, 01:48 AM
2nd Gear