B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Newfangled hair dryer thingies

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 02:54 PM
1st Gear
Default Newfangled hair dryer thingies

SO I'm new to the turbo car thing, came from V8 BMW to a A4 1.8T Manual. First off, the Audi is a better built car. the fit and finish is better, the ride is better and parts are soooo much cheaper.
I just put in a boost gage and noticed max boost is about 8 psi. From what I read it should be 9-10. At about 5k RPM it slowly bleeds down to around 6 psi. I take this as a weak DV. Am I wrong? Because I just ordered a 710 from ECS. So is this gonna help?
ALso I have more money than sense, so if I need a FMIC, a K04 and a chip and exhaust. Thats not really an issue. But what order to do them is. I come from the "there is no replacement for displacement" school.
Help please.

Old 01-25-2012, 03:08 PM

What year is your A4? AEB engine codes (1996-1999) typically boost 7-8psi, and I think 2000 models (ATW engine code) are about the same, but 2001 models boost higher ~10-11psi I think.

The boost tapering like that seems normal to me, if you had a bad DV I don't think you would hit the 8psi you are currently. But replacing the DV doesn't hurt especially if your current one is original to the car.

If you "have more money than sense" then you may desire to upgrade to something with higher gains than a K04.

As for your list, this is what I would do:
-FMIC (unless you go with a bigger turbo, in which case you will get extra lag with the K03)
-turbo/exhaust (easy to do at once since you have to disconnect the exhaust to replace the turbo)
-tune

Old 01-25-2012, 03:09 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by planedr65
ALso I have more money than sense
Help please.
feel free to paypal gift me then - samataras@gmail.com ty