B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Newbie Here: Possible Trade for an A4 1.8T Quattro

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 09:01 PM
1st Gear
Cool Newbie Here: Possible Trade for an A4 1.8T Quattro

Okay, first off you can tell me to STFU newb. But here's what I got going on. I have an '03 Ford Explorer Sport Trac XLT 2x4 with 64k miles on it that I am probably going to trade for a '99 A4 1.8T Quattro with 98k miles on it. Blue book prices are about the same with the Audi just a bit lower. The timing belt and water pump were recently changed around 80k and it seems to be in pretty good shape. I have always loved Euro cars but sometimes hear the "urban legends" about computers, expenses, etc etc. Last year I purchased a '99 Volvo S80 for my fiance'. It's somewhat of an electrical nightmare and don't want the Audi to be like that. I know, I know, you can't calssify them all in the same group; Audi's are German, Volvo's are Swedish, etc. I just want some opinions on what I may be getting myself into. If it's worth it. ETC.. Any and all suggestions are greatly appriciated.

Old 11-11-2008, 11:57 PM
1st Gear

See if you can move an SUV in this market/economy... no one wants to buy 'em with gas prices what they were this summer.

Read the thread about what goes wrong on these cars. That and keep 1k in your savings at all times, JIC.

Still, I think an Exploder is more unreliable. My wife had one... simply awful. She used to say that the steering wheel only gave her the illusion of control.

Old 11-12-2008, 01:00 AM
2nd Gear

i beg to differ ^^ i JUST paid $1.89 for gas today!!!! (regular unleaded btw) $1.89 , crazy, i never though its get below $3.00 again after it was like $4.20 this summer, let alond below $2.00!!!

(it wasnt for my car, or it would have been premium) but that was still only like $2.19 or something

Old 11-12-2008, 10:55 AM
3rd Gear

I agree with Epic. Ditch the Exploder.