B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Newbie here, looking at an 00 A4 1.8T Quattro, need advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2012, 10:54 AM
1st Gear
Default Newbie here, looking at an 00 A4 1.8T Quattro, need advice

I'm going to be looking at a 00 A4 1.8T Quattro with 168k miles and I wanted to get some opinions about the really high miles and also what to look for when I go to inspect it. It has a manual trans. I do my own work but have never had an Audi or even a car for that matter, I'm a truck and Jeep guy. I'm looking for a commuter car and the seller of this A4 contacted me when he saw that I was selling my Jeep and asked if I would consider a trade. I'm pretty handy with a wrench so I woukdn't shy away from a little work to keep this thing on the road just don't want to have to be working on it every weekend. I'm handy enough to do an engine/tranny swap if needed. My main question is can I get at least another 100k out of this setup, assuming that the previous owner maintained it well. Are there initial services that you would do if you got this A4 no matter what the condition, I'd do fluid changes of course. Any info you provide will be appreciated, I'm really considering this trade because I need a commuter and I don't want a car payment. My jeep is worth $5-$6k

Old 07-22-2012, 11:09 AM
4th Gear

Check the stickies and FAQ at the top of this section for all the info you will ever need about the 1.8 and maintenance. If it's been well maintained, I'd say go for it, but with a little cash from him to you (about a grand) as your jeep is worth at least that much more than a B5 with that many miles.

Most important, get proof (receipts) of major work done recently, like the timing belt. With this mileage it should be on it's third timing belt (normal interval is 60-80K).