B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Newbie here --have a question

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2010, 09:41 PM
1st Gear
Default Newbie here --have a question

I have a 2001 A4 1.8t with 117000 miles. Awhile back, maybe a year or so I got a grinding sound coming from the engine during start up. I took it to a local mechanic, I live in Atlanta, and he said it was the chain tensioner (sp) and it would not cause any problems -- it would just make the awful rattling noise at start up, that's it.

Recently, however, and I mean over the last 3 weeks, the rattling sound has gotten much, much worse. It seems to do it whenever the engine heats up. Additionally, it's very loud at low speeds. At the same time, my low oil pressure icon has flashed on.

I got a quote to fix the tensioner: $1800.00. Don't know if that's bad or good but it's more than I have right now. A couple of buddies of mine who know cars say, don't fix it. The say just put some 40 weight oil in the car and ride it out...meaning the cost is not worth fixing. So, here's my question, keep in mind I am not mechanical. 1) Can I put 40 weight in and will it harm the engine and will it do any good? 2) Is $1800 a reasonable price to fix the tensioner? and finally 3) is the low oil pressure a faulty sensor or related to the tensioner issue?

I would really appreciate whatever help anyone can provide.

Old 01-10-2010, 10:21 PM
2nd Gear

You should be using 40 weight oil anyway but it's not going to help that at all. And no, $1800 is nowhere near a good price to fix a cam chain tensioner. I'm not a professional mechanic and I did mine in 1-2 hours.