B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

New Scab

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 01:02 AM
1st Gear
Default New Scab

Alrighty
I am new to the Audi scene, and I am trying to drum up some info. I hope you guys can help. I did a bit of looking to try and make sure I am not asking for info that is readily available. So feel free to flame away at the newbie.

So, I bought my 1st Audi today. It is a 99 A4, and it is my understanding it has a 2.8l 30v motor. This one has motor issues and doesnt run at the moment (a long sad story, from the previous owner). So here are my questions.

1. Are all the B5 2.8l 30v motors the same. Ie if I find a motor from another year, will I have compatibility problems with it? I would hate to be dropping a motor in and find out I have the wrong one. The guy I bought the car from says that some of the VW stuff is compatible??

2. How can I physically tell a 12v from a 30v. If I find one locally, I do want to make sure I have the right one.

3. Any free FSM available online for these?

4. If I find another motor, are there things that are known to fail, stuff that I should replace before installing, ie timing belt, wp, sensors??

4a. I noticed some torx bolts...any other specialty tools I should get for doing a motor swap? I have done a few Nissan and Honda swaps, so I have some tools, but neither of those rices use torx.

5. WTH is a winter edition? It must be a trim package? easy swap? I really want heated seats.

That is all the questions I have for now...but I am sure there will be more.

Thanks in advance
-Jason

Old 06-18-2009, 07:46 AM
2nd Gear

1. Enignes are not all the same. You can find the engine code either stamped on the block or on a sticker stuck to the valve cover ...the enigne code is three letters usually starting with A. Search and you'll find some pictures of what the stamp looks like. Check out the sticky at the top of the B5 forums page for the engine codes.
2. The engine code.