B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

New To Audi's :-)

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2010, 02:48 AM
1st Gear
Cool New To Audi's :-)

Hello guys im new to the Whole Audi scene and i have a few ?'s and i hope you guys can all help me out.

ok first a lil info. here in the next couple of weeks im going to be buying a 2001 Audi A4 1.8t Quattro. now im not car stupid but i have never messed with an Audi so here come the questions, i have a couple friends who i am convinced are Audi haters! and keep trying to talk me out of buying one that they always break and cost an arm and a leg to fix and that aprently i wont be able to fix my self cuz they require special tools (now im a backyard mechanic lol worked on cars all my life and i have yet to see a car i cant work on) so a lil insite on that would be great!.

Question 2. ive been reading around on the forum a lil bit and i see the terms pre face lift and stuff like that. can i get 2 pics of them one face lifted and one not?.. so i can tell the diffrence. maybe a lil detailed info into what the acual diffrences are.

and the final question ive been digging around online for days looking for websites to get parts (performance, looks IE body kits lights, just basicly any part you can buy) any and all help would be great!

thanks in advance!

John

Old 09-24-2010, 08:31 AM
Super Moderator

#1 If you want reliability buy a Honda Toyota ect... These are very fun cars but do require maintence and parts usually cost a lil bit more than the avg. car. some things do require special tools but not many. Vag-Com is a must tho if you want to be doing any back yard work.

#2 face lift refers to when Audi changed the front bumper and a few other things on the car year 1999.5 YES 99.5 Audi does half years. Go here for more info on the different years! http://ctny.audiworld.com/mark/a4/diff/

#3 Check out the Noobie guide on the top of the B5 forums for good sites, I like ECS and a few others.