B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

New Audi Project - Wisdom Wanted

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2014, 09:24 AM
1st Gear
Default New Audi Project - Wisdom Wanted

Just got an 01 A4 Quattro 2.8 V6 Auto, with 167k on body, tranny rebuilt 3 yrs ago. Body and interior in showroom condition.

I'm told it has a blown engine. Wife drove it out of coolant, and then some, so I'll take a look when I get it to my place on Wed.

I was a domestic mechanic for 5yrs, but now I'm a design engineer for Honda, and all my wrenching is for charity. In fact, if I get this thing running and reliable, it will replace an unfortunate woman's old Pontiac.

Anyway, I'm not afraid of some engine work, but I found a 2.8L engine with manual tranny on Craigslist with 115k for 400 bucks. Tells me it ran great, car got rear ended, and they pulled the engine.

So I got some questions:
What should I know about these cars? Any common problems? My Audi tech friends say that the 2.8L's are notorious for timing belts, but that's its.
Will any 2.8L be a direct swap, or do I need to match up engine code? Again, Audi tech says that different wiring harnesses for different engine codes, even though same engine.
Will this car be worth the trouble? Or will I be resurrecting a nightmare? Remember, this is for a nice lady that doesn't want to see a mechanic every month.

Thanks in advance. Feels like I'm starting over on a new forum.

Old 08-18-2014, 10:55 AM
1st Gear

From what I've seen and done on those motors I would reseal it, vc gaskets at the very least , plugs, wp, TB, tstat & housing, also there is a pipe under the intake that has oring seals- I'd suggest that is much easier on the bench than installed, temp sensor. Pretty much if you do that stuff you should be able to go 60k+ assuming a clean cooling system and hoses.
Better check the fan - the motors burn out. Be sure you solved the overheat problem 100%

Old 08-18-2014, 12:03 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by smittylube