B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

lots of serious problems and need help!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2008, 11:11 AM
1st Gear
Default lots of serious problems and need help!!

hey guys so im new to Audi's and even to this forum...

So i bought a 2000 A4 1.8TQ auto and well it doenst run. The car has been sitting for over a year and a half now and in iowa we just got like over 5+ feet of snow this winter. The story behind the car is that one day he was driving it and when the RPMs got below 1,000 the car would die out on him. Then his buddy took out the car and ran over a curb and ripped out the power steering tubing under the front bumper. So the kid forgot about it and just let it sit.

I went to tow it out last night and ran into a few problems. I tried to jump it and let it charge for about 20min and went to turn it over and just heard a single "Click" or "Clunk". so i dont know if my battery AND Starter are an issue?

SO after figuring out i cant jump it, we got the car trailer in front of it and went to pull it on to the trailer and well, the wheels wouldnt turn!! WE DID HAVE IT IN NEUTRAL, and then we jacked up the tires and none of them would freely turn, i know there should be some play in them but they wouldnt turn period. not even a centameter. so we couldnt even take the car away and it just sits.

my questions are...

is this an electronic transmission where i could have it in neutral but it wont engage the trans because no power is getting to it? which would cause my tires to still be in park mode.

and what could be wrong with it not turning over? starter, batter? both?

i know i have alot of work a head of me.
i plan on changing all the fluids, filters, fuel stuff, plugs wires, batter, tires, MAF, TB, Air intake...and the list goes on.

ANY HELP WOULD BE AWESOME!!

thanks

Ps im not sure how to get pics to show up here, so these are the direct links.
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a3...g-/audi002.jpg