B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

High Clutch Bite Point

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2009, 06:14 AM
1st Gear
Default High Clutch Bite Point

Hi There,

I am a complete Audi Newbie and have a question about a 1996 1.8 A4(118K) I have just bought.

I noticed that the clutch has a pretty high bite point and was wondereing what to expect when i go to a garage e.g. will it simply need adjusted etc.

Cheers,
James.

Old 01-23-2009, 06:58 AM
1st Gear

Hi and welcome, you don't say what engine type you have - 1,8 or 1,8T...

B5's generally bite high-ish, and it's not necessarilly due to wear.
The clutch is hydraulically-operated, there's no adjustment possible.

It helps to state your location too, as there may be members close to you who could have a feel of your clutch pedal, and advice based on their own experiences...

Old 01-23-2009, 08:26 AM
3rd Gear

Siena's right. As far as what to expect well it just depends how high were talking here. If it's like mine your going to need to get a new clutch and most shops will try to make you buy a FW too as many don't know where to get our dual mass FW resurfaced. So if they quote you a clutch and FW I would go and order a Southbend Clutch and w/ that southbend will resurface your FW for free.

Old 01-23-2009, 09:59 AM
Administrator

Welcome to the forums! My first suggestion is to read all of onepoint8tee's stickies. They pwn. Second, the high clutch is pretty normal. It took me a while to get used to it as well, but i think once you do you'll find that you like having a lot of clutch travel to play with. GL!

Old 01-23-2009, 12:46 PM

i came from driving a '99 5-speed nissan maxima, and compared to that car my audi clutch at first felt like it engaged really high. however you get used to it. now i freak out when i step on the pedal, i wonder if the pedal is at the same height as when i started driving it. (paranoia)