B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Happy new Audi owner...sort of.

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2009, 08:00 PM
Default Happy new Audi owner...sort of.

Hello all, Newbie here having just purchased my first Audi. I have always been a fan, and found a great deal on a 1997 A4 Quattro. The car is a blast to drive with the 2.8 30v, a five speed, and I think a sport package. It has 130k on it, and I hope to get many happy years out of it. The Audi has happily replaced my diesel Merc for the daily commute....I didnt know driving could be such fun. The Audi is in really good shape, but does have a few issues that I will be addressing. The rear speakers are there, but have no wires going to them, and I cant find them in the trunk. The illumination screen for the climate control head unit needs some attention. And of course , the CEL is on. Came on three days and 200 miles after I bought it, of course. I am not discouraged though, I am going to get the codes pulled and hope for something simple. I hope I didnt get a good deal on it because of the CEL...but who knows From everything that I have read, these cars are very robust...and like someone on the forum said, 'beats the heck out of a 97 Civic'! Stay tuned!

Old 05-19-2009, 08:46 PM
Legal Moderator

first off you wish it was a thirty valve! 97's are only 12v but i hear they are more reliable, who knows...