B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

ECT Sensor

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2008, 10:08 PM
1st Gear
Default ECT Sensor

I am showing fault code

P0117

Engine Coolant Temp.Circ Low Input

Does anyone know how to check this? I am not sure where this is located to verify the wiring is not loose. If I need to buy a new one I have not had any luck finding one online either. Anyone with a suggestion on where you can buy these type of parts online.

I just bought my Audi last week and I am still learning.

Old 03-30-2008, 10:23 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: ECT Sensor

BTW: it is a 2000 A4 Quattro Avant 2.8 V6 Automatic.

Old 03-30-2008, 11:49 PM
1st Gear

it's normally located between the engine and the firewall, mounted to one of the coolant hoses. It's usually pretty easy to get at. It is a thermistor which can make it hard to test because it varies according to temp. What does your coolant gauge read at normal op temp?? Any online audi parts store sells this part. I had a similar reading but when I replaced the thermostat it went away.

Old 03-30-2008, 11:55 PM
4th Gear

it a cheap part, usually it bad if your temp gauge fluctuates while driving. on your car its located on the passenger side pretty much under the intake pipe and under alot of wires and hoses. its about 45minute on the V6, theres a DIY inteh DIY section. i got mine at NAPA for $15 depending on your part its either the blue top or since your 2000 it may be the revised green top.

Old 03-31-2008, 12:37 AM
1st Gear

I changed mine a few weeks ago and it resolved all of my irratic coolant issues. Careful when you pull it out not to break the breather hose! It's a $90 plastic part, and it seems that it's a common problem that it grows brittle.

Old 04-02-2008, 09:03 PM
1st Gear