B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Does my turbo look rebuildable? (big pictures, no dialup)

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2009, 08:30 PM
2nd Gear
Default Does my turbo look rebuildable? (big pictures, no dialup)

I removed the turbo today and it definitely needs to be rebuilt or replaced. I've never worked on turbochargers before. I haven't taken it apart at this point, but can you guys look at these pictures and see what you think? The pictures probably aren't very good though, but hopefully they might be good enough. I put some short comments on them but keep in mind I know little about turbos.

There was a little bit of oil in the air plumbing, and I can hear the thing sound like a jet for like 30 seconds when I turn the car on/off. It doesn't sound bad (to me, anyway) while the car's running though.

Old 10-04-2009, 08:58 PM
3rd Gear

theres nothing that looks bad. though damage that would make it non rebuildable wouldnt necessarily show up without disassembly.

and what is a 'dial up'? lol

Old 10-04-2009, 09:16 PM
2nd Gear

Though I will have to find a way to get the rest of that broken bolt out. Couldn't get it out, so I heated the head with a MAPP torch until it was red, and *snap*

Old 10-04-2009, 09:17 PM
4th Gear

Oil in the IC hoses/Pipes is perfectly normal and doesn't mean its coming from the turbo, this is because the crank case breather allows oil vapor to get into the intake system.

I am not seeing any issues with the turbo.

Old 10-04-2009, 09:44 PM
2nd Gear

Whaaat, really? Darn. Well, I'm gonna just go and rebuild it then since it's out and all.

Old 10-05-2009, 03:58 PM
2nd Gear

By the way, where can I buy that oil (I think) adapter that's messed up? Perhaps it's some sort of standard fitting but what size? And will I need a crush washer or anything for it?