B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Dependability?

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2012, 10:02 PM
1st Gear
Default Dependability?

For the first time in my life, I am considering an Audi Quatro. The subject car is a 1997 A4 with manual transmission and 2.8 engine, mileage is 130,000.

Currently, I own and maintain a 1978 911 SC. Prior to that, I owned and maintained an 85 Mercedes 300D. I am not a master mechanic but, generally, am a competent mechanic and not afraid of taking things apart an putting them back together.

To make a long story short, my wife recently totaled her 2007 Impreza and is pretty adamant about about replacing it with an all-wheel-drive vehicle. I can not help but notice that there are some Audi A4s out there at with very attractive prices. Also, at heart, I love German iron.

I have looked over the FAQ posts on the A4 but still have the following comment/question:

I notice nobody offers claims that Audi automobiles, specifically older A4s, are the most dependable cars in the world; it is not difficult to find posts/reviews complaining about dependability. In my experience, when a person states: "this or that model is not dependable," they can mean one of two things:

1. This car frequently breaks down and leaves me parked on the side of the road, or

2. This care is frequently in need of attention/maintenance but gets me home reliably.

As the A4 will be a daily driver used by my wife to get back and forth to work, I am curious, which of the above best describes the dependability problems associated with older Audi A4s.

I realize this may be a difficult question to answer. Any help is appreciated.

Best regards,

Wayne

Old 09-08-2012, 10:09 PM
1st Gear

I'd be inclined to "the car is in need of attention, although you should be able to get home and eventually look at it".

The biggest issues I've had with my car were Electrical; be it a sensor, fuel gauge, wipers relay, interior lighting, cluster, etc.