B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

A bit of an unusual request...

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2012, 10:18 AM
1st Gear
Default A bit of an unusual request...

So quick introduction, I am an aspiring rally driver and I have decided to use a 98 A4 quattro as my steed. I have mechanical experience and I will be prepping the car on my own as much as possible. Per Rally America rules, any new rally driver must start on a Novice license which restricts the driver to Production, 2wd, and Open Light classes. I have decided to run in the Open Light until I am on the Unrestricted license, at which point I will be running in Open class. The reason for this is that Open Light is naturally aspirated awd cars, and I don't want to have to relearn my driving style before going on to Open class (awd turbo). So now for the question. What naturally aspirated engines will either A) bolt right in or B) fit in the B5 A4q engine bay and mount with adapter plates? I'm looking for the highest performance I can get, and there is no restriction on configuration, only displacement, which is 2650cc. I know this is kinda weird, most guys are looking to improve their turbo'd engines, and I'm going backwards. Just go with me on this one...

Old 09-30-2012, 03:43 PM
Administrator

Are you in the US?

The B5 A4 only came with 1.8T and 2.8 in the US - the latter is bigger than the maximum size engine allowed.

There are several guys who have successfully put in a 4.2 engine NA off the A6 that fits with minor modifications but that's also too big of an engine to be allowed.

The only one I can think of is if you source an European/Asian only market engine since I know they have a 2.6 at one point. Though this motor isn't a high performance motor.