B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

1998 2.8L Not Starting

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 09:52 PM
1st Gear
Angry 1998 2.8L Not Starting

Hello,

One of my daily drivers, a 1998 A4 Quattro with the 2.8L (30V) motor and tiptronic trans decided it would be fun to not start roughly 50 miles from my residence...

The car drove roughly 120 miles non-stop prior to not starting, and after stopping to get gas would not start. The car was off for about 5 minutes while I was refueling.

All the accessories will come on, the vehicle will not crank nor is there any major voltage drop/attempt to start upon turning the key to the Fire/On/Crank position.

Thankfully I had tools with me(I am Not a mechanic however), so I checked all the wires that would be directly accessible for connection issues including the battery terminals. I am not very familiar with these cars regarding the electronics if the ignition is controlled/limited through the ECU so I disconnected the battery waited 20 minutes to see if there was an ECU reset/issue (my BMW DD was like this). I do not normally touch electronics if it can be avoided as I dislike dealing with the issues like this..meh...

I checked the ECU to see if it would throw out any codes regarding this issue but got nothing for codes. (Solus Pro).

Pulled the starter(surprisingly easy), tested it ...works fine. (gas station had a mechanics shop attached coincidentally...although they will not work on foreign vehicles..loaned me a bay to work in)

Checked fuel components etc....

Dealerships were useless (those that I spoke to at least)...and the closest one to the car is 213 miles....so before I tow it there if it is a simple fix I'd like to do it myself rather than be charged at $110/hr shop rate.