Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

Few questions, Looking at buying a Audi TT

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 10:24 PM
Default Few questions, Looking at buying a Audi TT

I'm thinking about buying a Audi TT very soon. I have a few questions before I buy one though.
What is the deference between the Roadster and the Quattro? All I know is the Quattro has 4 wheel drive.
What model has 225hp?
What "ALL" do I need if I want a BOV (blow off valve) on the TT
I’m new to turbo’s, what gauges do I need? I.e. Boost, PSI so on..
What’s the deference between the stage 1-3 turbos? What's a good price on a 2001-2004 TT i.e. 40-80k miles
I have around $10k-$15K
Thanks for any help you guys, Hope to be a future TT owner!

Old 05-27-2008, 10:38 PM
5th Gear
Default RE: Few questions, Looking at buying a Audi TT

since your knowledge of turbos is minimal, I'll say skip the blow off valve. VAG cars use a diverter valve, which is much like a blow off valve, except it recirculates the air into the intake again, instead of venting to atmosphere. Save yourself a headache, and stick with the diverter or a hybrid until you know whats going on, and then you can start screwing with that.

quattro is AWD.

Coupe is a hardtop car
Roadster is the convertable.

225 Hp cars are all 6 speed, they have a dual exhaust (the 180 has 1 tip). 225 also has 2 side mounted intercoolers (SMIC's) 180 has 1. Also, with the hood popped, you'll see a "L" shaped charge pipe on the 225, the 180 doesn't, and the intake manifold is on backwards on the 180 (intentional jab at the 180 guys) ; )

BTW, I'm being nice, all this crap is in the sticky at the top of the forum.

Old 05-27-2008, 10:47 PM

Sorry I didnt see the FAQ sticky, I didn't make it past *The OFFICAL pic ***** your TT thread*
Thanks again for the info, Ill look into the "DV" more before I make a decistion on the TT.

Old 05-27-2008, 10:50 PM