Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

Few questions for current TT owners

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2011, 05:31 PM
1st Gear
Default Few questions for current TT owners

So, i'm currently looking into my first Audi...ever.

Found a 2003 TT with 90k miles on it but noticed a few issues with the vehicle and i'm wondering if it's worth the trade. He is asking $8500 for it or trade for a "truck that can tow a boat."

First, the messenger window (between tach and odo) is unreadable. Seems like only a few of the pixles are actually working. Current owner of the vehicle says it's an $80 part at the dealership. Any truth to that? Is it something i could install myself? I'm not a certified mechanic or anything but i have built (from the ground up) a number of turbo motors (honda/acura) in my younger days.

Any other things i should be cautious about?
I know the timing belt and water pump havent been done and that will be done within the first week if i decide to go through with the trade (out of my pocket).
He is also including a new set of brake pads for the car. He says there's nothing currently wrong with them except they squeak (metalic pads). I'll confirm this as they do squeak like metalic pads, not like the metal tab that reminds you the pads need to be changed. Rotors all have even wear on them, no obvious hot spots or cracks.
Oil was changed yesterday with Castrol Syntec, unsure of previous oil change mileage/date.

Any more information you guys can tell me and or advise me of to look for would be greatly appreciated. Like i said i know some things about vehicles but this will be my first Audi. I know about timing belts and water pumps needing to be changed every 50-60k miles, and oil changes and all that, but any other things that might need servicing that are different than other vehicles?