Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

2001 Audi TT Quattro 180 Clutch Job - attempt it or take it to the shop?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 10:32 AM
1st Gear
Default 2001 Audi TT Quattro 180 Clutch Job - attempt it or take it to the shop?

I'm debating on attempting my clutch job for my 2001 TTQC 180. I've never done a clutch job before, but I'm willing to try it, providing its not something totally beyond me. I did the timing belt job on this car and while it was difficult with the tight working space, it was doable. Would you consider the clutch job to be comparable in difficulty?

Of all of the writeups I've been digging up in the forum search, which one is the best to go off of - or is there a better one on someone's fotki or another site?

Also, I'm planning on using this kit:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...m=390154555912

Will that work and is it a good price, or is there a better price elsewhere? I really want to use a stock kit, because this is my DD, not a track car, and I sit in rush hour city traffic pretty often.

Right now, my symptoms are:
I start to slip under heavy boost and it tends to slip more in higher gears. I can still run next to full boost in lower gears without slipping.

Old 02-18-2011, 01:53 PM
I'm make believe