Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about Chips and Turbos

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2005, 05:31 AM
1st Gear
Default Question about Chips and Turbos

So I did a search on the forums and couldn't find the answer to my questions. So I thought I would ask the forum. I am looking for a 2002 Audi A4 1.8t Quattro. I have found a few and am waiting to see how the prices will work out. Anyways, I have been looking for upgrades as I want to improve the performance of the car. However I am totally new to modding and am thoroughly confused.

Taps stage 1 upgrade is about $650 and claims 48 HP. But they list HP improvement to 198 which is only 28 better based off the 170 stock engine am I right? Is that something to look into. Would I be happy with that. I just want noticeable performance increase for under $1000 right now.

However, everywhere else says you have to upgrade the Turbos to K04 and therefore spend over $2000 to get the turbo and change the exhaust. So why is that so much more if TAP will give similar performance upgrades?

Again I have no idea what I am talking about so any help and clarification would be very much appreciated...and I will look forward to joining this brethren in the future.

Old 02-24-2005, 11:44 AM
Site Moderator
Default RE: Question about Chips and Turbos

TAP just changes the software to take full advantage of the K03 turbo
The K04 is a larger turbo and will give better performance than a chipped K03.

take a look at www.goapr.com and www.awe-tuning.com for chips

Old 02-24-2005, 12:12 PM

Hey brrman do you have the giac chip with the stock setting? Does this work well for you and what hp torque gains did you have? do you think you really gain 30?

Old 02-24-2005, 12:41 PM
1st Gear