Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Problem with steering rack

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2007, 10:24 AM
1st Gear
Default Problem with steering rack

I have a 1996 A4,, the car leaks by the steering boots, I am new with the maintenance of this car, so I add regular steering oil, then I learned that I should use the Audi steering oil to prevent this problem. When I add the oil, the car did not leak but after a 30 min drive the car starts leaking, do you think that the problem is the oil, or should I just replace the rack, but why leaks when the car is hot.
I have read that there is a chance to repair the steering rack. Anybody knows how to. Besides audi oil wich american brand can be use?
Thanks
Norberto

Old 07-01-2007, 12:05 PM
Site Moderator
Default RE: Problem with steering rack

Steering rack replacement is to be dreaded. Not only does it cost an *** load, there is an *** load of labor involved. Steering rack replacement= Double *** load. I would say try running some power steering fluid stop leak to buy you time, but Im not sure if that could affect the pump badly. Try not to run it dry before replacing the rack, or youll end up having to replace the pump too. depending on where exactly the leak is coming from I guess it might be able to be fixed.

Old 07-01-2007, 03:21 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Problem with steering rack