Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No 1 peice headlight unit for '99 style?

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2004, 06:52 AM
Default No 1 peice headlight unit for '99 style?

Thought I saw one once on ebay, but now I can't seem to find one anywhere...

I don't get why in the world they make the aftermarket ones in two peices in the first place. I am a newb to Audi, so if theres a good reason that I'm missing here please LMK.

And if there isn't... would the '01 one peice fit a '99? Sure looks like it can, but I dunno sense I haven't even test driven one yet (actually gonna do that tomorrow morning lol).

Anyway this is a big concern for me. Cause I like the price difference of the '99 models as opposed to the newer '01 and up. That and here locally there aren't many Audi's anyway and so my choices are a little limited.

If it doesn't fit lets say... would the newer bumper fit directly on? And so that way at least the headlights + bumper would match. But then I dunno if maybe the cars use different style blubs between the years or if there are other compatibility issues involved.

Looking towards some good replies. Nice forum guys btw.

Old 08-28-2004, 12:16 PM
Site Moderator
Default RE: No 1 peice headlight unit for '99 style?

If your car came with 2 piece headlights then you can only add 1 piece headlights (meant for a 99.5+ model year) by triming the fender behind the corner lense. In any case - you can easily add the 1 piece lights to a '99 with some minor modifications. But you can then never go back to 2 piece lights.

Its a very common mod.

Old 08-28-2004, 02:12 PM
6th Gear

I love my 1 piece headlights in my 97, one of the best cosmetic mods.

Old 08-28-2004, 02:24 PM

ORIGINAL: brrman