Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My brand new car scared me

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2007, 04:29 AM
1st Gear
Default My brand new car scared me

Hey Guys,

I have a 2007 Audi A4 with 1500 miles which I chipped with APR at around 600. The other day I was driving up the freeway and I brought the car up to 100mph then all of a sudden I felt complete power loss. The car wouldn't go above 100 and it felt like I was running NA.I was scared shitless. I backed off the gas and exited the freeway. For the next several miles I took it easy but when I hit 2500rpms I didn't feel the turbo kick in like I normally do. A few minutes later I decided to pull over and hold in the cruise control button to change it back to the stock setting. I've never done this before and quite frankly I have no idea what mode it is in right now. You are supposed to look for the blinks according to the manual but it just ends up confusing me. A few times my car wouldn't even start when changing maps even though I let it sit for 10 seconds before starting it again.

So anyway it doesn't feel like it used to but it's better than it was during that scary experience. I don't know what to do. I mean I have taken the car up to 120mph in the past without any issues.The car is brand new and I don't want to bring it to the dealer as I'm pretty worried about them finding out about the chip. Yeah... the dealer can't find out about it by hooking up to the ODB-II port but they can hold in the set button on the cruise control stalk to see if the check engine light blinks abnormally.

Based on what I've read I've heard stories of blown turbos, bad dv, and bad fuel pumps. What do you think?

Old 01-11-2007, 04:39 AM
Site Moderator
Default RE: My brand new car scared me