Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for some Straight Answers

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2004, 12:30 AM
Default Looking for some Straight Answers

Hi All, I'm new to the A4 world, and purchasing an '04 1.8t Quattro 6MT in the very near future. I've got a few q's that i've been thinking about regarding mods:

1) What are the differences between the different turbo setups? (one is like longitudinal, the other is transverse... or something like that)
2) How long do I wait before I upgrade? I've got itchy fingers and the stock 1.8 is severely underpowered, what's an ideal break-in period? I realize that you'd want to drive it for a while in order to ensure that you didn't get stuck with a lemon by freak accident
3) What is the difference between K04, and E05?
4) Do the different hp ratings that i read about for the 1.8 have to do with european models vs. us?
5) I've read on some boards that the intake is a waste of $$, and in some cases may be damaging (something to do with oil)... is that true?
6) As far as mods go, is there a particular order that is ideal to do the mods in to ensure that no damage is incurred as a result of undue strain on the engine... i.e. does the exhaust have to be first, followed by the turbo and then the chip, etc? or does it not matter? my sense is that it probably does not make much of a difference.
7) Are there are preferred more reputable turbo and chip manufacturers?

I also have a few other q's, but i'll research them a little more and see what i can dig up. That said, I know that this post is certainly one of the more overwhelming ones (due to the breadth of info i'm requesting) but any light you could shed would be greatly appreciated. I appreciate your time....Thanks again!!

Old 08-27-2004, 01:16 AM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Looking for some Straight Answers