Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

K04 swap progress report #1

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2007, 09:03 PM
1st Gear
Default K04 swap progress report #1

Hey guys-

Started the k04 swap a couple days ago. I'm an engineer, and I have hands-on know-how, but I'm no awesome mechanic. That being said, I've never done a turbo swap before, and was a little wary about doing it, since most diy's made it sound so easy. Most said it took 4 hours start to finish.

That is total crap. Maybe if you're an expert mechanic, and you've done it before, and you run into absolutely no snags... but that's not the sort of person that's going to read a DIY... so needless to say, fairly misleading.

I guess I should document my progress, in case there's anybody else out there who wants to know, or wants extra information if they're going to try it themselves.

First thing I did was go out and buy some high quality 5w40 amsoil and a filter. Got home 50 bucks later, and drained the current oil (almost due for a change anyway). Let it drip.

I popped the hood, and took out the airbox. Pretty simple, there's a couple screws to a heatshield, a couple screws for other various attachments, etc. When I got it all disconnected mechanically (there were still electrical wires running to it) I just pivoted it up and rested it close to the windshield. It's nice and out of the way, so I don't have to worry about mixing up the connections when I put it back together.

Next, I took off the turbo / cat nuts and washers. The top two are reasonably easy to get, the bottom one I had to reach all the way up from underneath back near where the exhaust system levels out (farther back) with a couple long extensions and a universal joint. Not too bad, since I've done that before. They came off pretty easily.