Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Got my A4 chipped and now the car stalls

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2007, 11:50 PM
1st Gear
Default Got my A4 chipped and now the car stalls

I'mhopingsomeone could shed some light on this since I'm not a mechanic and don't know the first thing about cars (I just drive them. )

I have a 99.5 A4 1.8T Quattro, 5 speed. I gotit chipped yesterday. Got the GIAC chip and a new DV, installed at TyrolSport.

Drove the car back home and drove it some more today in early afternoon, no problem. Parked it in the drive way for about 4 hours and then the problem occurred when I tried to go out again.

The car starts but stalls after a couple of seconds. I also tried starting the car with the gaspedal depressed a little bit but it still stalls. The gas tank has about 1/4 of a tank left. I mention this because a friend of mine thinks it could be somethingfuel related (either a bad sensor or a fuel blockage somewhere).

Unfortunately tomorrow is Sunday and Monday is a holiday so it looks like it'll be a couple of days before it can be seen by a mechanic.

Do you guys think the new GIAC chip can, in any way cause a problem like this? The guys at TyrolSport told me to bring the car back if I had any problems but if the car won't start, it's going to be a little tough doing that.

It's easier and closer for me to bring it to my mechanic (tow truck) but if there's a possibility that the GIAC chip could be causing this problem then I can find a way to bring it back to the people that installed it.

Any suggestions or help you guys can provide will be deeply appreciated.

Old 05-27-2007, 02:11 AM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Got my A4 chipped and now the car stalls