Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Asking for honest truths & opinions!

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 12:26 AM
1st Gear
Default Asking for honest truths & opinions!

Hi, I'm new to this forum!
I'm currently looking for a (used) new car and Audi a4 just caught my eyes..
There is one out near my residence (a dealer) that has 2001 A4 Quattro 5M with 75k original miles for only $6k.
Now I used to have an 09 Civic Si sedan and it was just a beautiful car until I sold it.. Unfortunately this A4 doesn't come with navi like my Si did.. but hey, at least it's a MT!

The thing that sort of *worries me is the reliability.. I'll be honest.. I have no knowledge on Germans cars. All I *heard* from my peers is that german cars (Audi, BMW, Benz) tend to be extremely high maintenance cars especially after 100k.
I've been doing just basic research on the A4 and it sounds like the engine is belt-driven and this belt must be replaced every 50-60k miles..? and same goes with the rubber hoses?

I plan to work on the vehicle myself (IF I do end up purchasing it that is) and considering that I'll do the most, if not all of the maintenance, how reliable & expensive would this vehicle be? I'm already expecting a bit more than a Honda I had, but I'm hoping to hear from you guys. Also, what should I be looking for when I actually go look at this A4 I mentioned about? Of course I'll be test driving the vehicle and checking the basic things such as: clutch, brakes, steering, driver controls, rust, etc. But are there any other specific things I should be extremely careful to look for from an used Audi?
I would really appreciate you guys' input on this. Thank you!

Old 01-28-2014, 01:47 AM
1st Gear

I think it'd be better if I gave you guys a little more info on this vehicle I'm currently looking at:

2001 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro